top of page

Erase your tracks

All browsers store data on every website consulted and research launched on a computer, but also on a tablet and smartphone (for this option, please refer to the last section on this page). For your safety, it is important to erase your browsing history on this website and every other website. To do so, follow the procedures indicated below, depending on the type of browser used. 

It is also possible to avoid having to manually erase your browsing history after each visit by using a private browsing system, which allows you to open a secure page. Such pages will not appear in your browsing history.

Google Chrome 

Erase your tracks 

 

  1. Open the Chrome menu at the top right of the navigation toolbar*.

  2. Select More tools*.

  3. Click Clear browsing data*.

  4. Check the following boxes:

    • Browsing history 

    • Download history

    • Cookies and other site data 

    • Cached images and files 

    • Autofill form data 

  5. Click Clear data. 

(*) Pressing simultaneously on Ctrl + Shift + Del allows you to skip steps 1, 2 and 3. 

 

Use the Incognito mode 

 

  1. Open the Chrome menu at the top right of the navigation toolbar**.

  2. Click New Incognito window**.

 

(**) Pressing simultaneously on Ctrl + Shift + N allows you to skip both steps.

Internet Explorer

Erase your tracks 

 

  1. Open the Tools menu (Alt + X)*.

  2. Select Safety*

  3. Click Delete browsing history*

  4. Check the following boxes:

    • Temporary Internet files 

    • Cookies and other site data

    • Browsing history

    • Download history

    • Autofill form data

  5. Click Delete.

(*) Pressing simultaneously on Ctrl + Shift + Del allows you to skip steps 1, 2 and 3.

 

Use the InPrivate Browsing mode 

  1. Open the Tools menu (Alt + X)**

  2. Select Safety**

  3. Click InPrivate Browsing**

 

(**) Pressing simultaneously Ctrl + Shift + P allows you to skip steps  1, 2 and 3.

Mozilla Firefox

Erase your tracks 

  1. Click the menu button, select History, and Clear Recent History.

  2. Select how much history you want to clear:

    • Click the drop-down menu next to Time range to clear to choose how much of your history will clear.

    • Use the check boxes to select what information you want to clear from your history.

  3. Click the OK button. The window will close and the items you've selected will be cleared from your history. 

 

Use the Private Browsing mode

 

There are two ways to open a new Private window.

 

Open a new Private window 

 

  • Click the menu button, and then click New private window.

Open a link in a new Private window

 

  • Right-click on any link and choose Open Link in New Private Window from the context menu.

Safari

Erase your tracks

  1. Open the Safari menu or tap the Setting icon.

  2. Click Reset Safari.

  3. In the new window, select all of the boxes.

  4. Click Reset.

 

Use the Private Browsing mode

 

  1. Open the Safari menu or tap the Setting icon. 

  2. Select Private Browsing. 

Smartphones

iPhone, iPad and iPod touch : 

Please check the Apple online support. 

Android :

  • Tap Settings, then click Privacy and security.

  • From there, you can clear the following: cache, history, all cookie data, autofill form data, and passwords. 

  • For Google Chrome, tap Settings, Privacy and security, and Clear browsing data. Select how much information you want to clear, then tap Clear data. 

  • For Dolphin, tap Settings, Advanced, and Clear data. Select how much information you want to clear. In this menu, you can also enable the Incognito mode. 

WARNING: These instructions may change if the Web browser is updated. When in doubt, it is best to use a friend's computer or to Google the updated instructions. 

bottom of page